EU prepares new sanctions against Belarus and Russia

The European Union member states have agreed on the need for new sanctions against Belarus and Russia for aggression against Ukraine.

Journalist Rikard Jozwiak announced this on Twitter.

Thus, a new package of sanctions against Belarus and Russia is planned to be introduced today, March 8. Among the restrictions are sanctions against 3 Belarusian banks, which will be disconnected from the SWIFT payment system.

Russia’s sanctions will also be expanded. This time they will focus on the use of maritime technology and participation in registries. The list of Russian oligarchs, which will be subject to restrictions, will also be expanded.

A number of cryptocurrency systems will exclude the Russian Federation, and the EU will abandon the remnants of preferences in bilateral trade.

Translate »