Ukraine: 8 regions out of “red” quarantine zone starting Dec 7

The State Commission for Emergencies has approved a decision to lift the red-level quarantine restrictions off the City of Kyiv, as well as eight regions across Ukraine: Donetsk, Dnipropetrovsk, Ivano-Frankivsk, Luhansk, Lviv, Odessa, Rivne and Kherson.

The decision shall come into force from 00:00 on December 7, said Cabinet Minister Oleh Nemchynov.

Earlier, Health Minister Viktor Liashko said new quarantine restrictions applied in the yellow zone of epidemic threat came into force on December 6. Namely, they apply to public institutions, theaters, cinemas, cafes, restaurants, gyms, hotels and more.

The following is prohibited: operations of educational facilities if more than 50% of students and staff are in self-isolation; operations of educational facilities of not all employees have been vaccinated for COVID-19 with at least one dose; mass events; operations of cinemas, theaters, and other cultural facilities, as well as catering establishments and swimming pools; and operations of accommodation establishments (except hotels, sanatoriums, and social assistance institutions); as well as interregional and international transportation services.

These restrictions do not apply if employees, visitors (clients) hold a vaccination certificate (at least one dose), a coronavirus recovery certificate, or a negative COVID-19 test result.

As of December 6, Ukraine’s health officials have confirmed a total of 3,501,955 COVID-19 cases in Ukraine, including 4,478 detected in the past 24 hours.