A diplomatic delegation from Armenia visited Kiliya. The group of distinguished guests included the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Ukraine Tigran Seyranyan, the Consul General of the Republic of Armenia in Odessa Gevorg Petrosyan.
The guests paid the main attention to the visit the St. Nicholas Church, a unique place of the spiritual-Orthodox and historical-cultural heritage. St. Nicholas Church in Kiliya is an architectural monument of a rare for Ukraine type (semi-underground church building).
The ancient origin of the churches in this region was proved by a manuscript found in the funds of the Synod, which describes in detail the monuments of St. Nicholas Greek Church in Kiliya, showing that “its foundation dates back to the 10th century AD.” These are the remains of icons and the royal gates, as well as a board “above the royal gates made of beech wood with the inscription of the artist’s iconostasis carved on it.” After the inscription there are the following words: “Artist servant of God Demetrius John, 1070.” The temple was originally in honour of the Holy Apostle John the Theologian.
Archpriest Mikhail Pavlishin, the dean of the Kiliya district and rector of St. Nicholas Church, told the visitors about the history of the temple, conducted a tour of the territory where ancient monuments of Armenian culture were discovered – khachkar tombstones, which is of particular interest to representatives of the Armenian people.
During the meeting, they discussed the issues of protection of these ancient architectural monuments, which are the heritage of, not only the Armenians, but also all the peoples living in Ukraine.