Oksana Lyniv making history at this summer’s Bayreuth Festival

The Ukrainian conductor Oksana Lyniv is the first woman to head an orchestra at the famous Wagner festival in Bavaria.

After the festival was cancelled last year, BR-KLASSIK will be back at the Bayreuth Festival, which celebrates the works of the legendary Richard Wagner. Oksana Lyniv, Chief guest conductor of the Odessa Opera Theatre, is set to open this year’s festival with a production of Wagner’s “The Flying Dutchman” on 25 of July.

SUNDAY, July 25th, 2021
5:05 PM TO 9:00 PM

The central theme of the opera is redemption through love. Wagner conducted the premiere at the Königliches Hoftheater Dresden in 1843.

For the first time in the history of the Bayreuth Festival, a woman is conducting a music production. Given the special working conditions in the very special orchestra pit of the Festspielhaus, this is no easy task, because Wagner composed and orchestrated this opera for a traditional pit without a sound cover.

“The Flying Dutchman” – Romantic opera in three acts
Dutchman – John Lundgren
Daland – Georg Zeppenfeld
Senta – Asmik Grigorian
Erik – Eric Cutler
Mary – Marina Prudenskaya
Helmsman – Attilio Glaser
Choir and orchestra of the Bayreuth Festival
Conductor: Oksana Lyniv

Born in Brody in 1978 into a family of musicians, she spent her childhood immersed in music before entering Lviv’s Music School in the early 1990s amid the upheavals of Ukraine’s fledgling independence. The Ukrainian classical music star first conducted an orchestra at the tender age of 16.

Oksana Lyniv made history when she became the first female conductor to be named chief conductor of the Graz Opera and the Graz Philharmonic Orchestra. She concluded her tenure in Graz at the end of the 2019-2020 season. This season she is scheduled to conduct at the Bayerische Staatsoper, Oper Frankfurt, Theater an der Wien, Opera de Paris, and Staatsoper Stuttgart.

The broadcast will be available worldwide!

The Flying Dutchman is a German-language opera, with libretto and music by Richard Wagner