The SBU has identified Russian generals who ordered the capture of Chernobyl

SBU continues to expose war criminals of Russian occupation groups. In the course of investigative and operational actions, the identities of high-ranking Russian officials who organized the armed seizure of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant during the full-scale invasion of the territory of our state have been established.

It has been established that the order to attack a strategically important Ukrainian facility was given by the former deputy commander of the Siberian district of the Rosguard, Major General O. Yakushev.

In pursuance of a criminal instruction, Colonel A. Frolenkov, deputy commander of the combined unit of the Rosguard’s special purpose unit in the Bryansk region, directly supervised the actions of his subordinates during the attack on the nuclear power plant.

Thus, the occupiers grossly violated the requirements of international humanitarian law, including the Geneva Convention, which explicitly prohibits attacks on nuclear power plants in wartime.

In addition, after the armed seizure of nuclear power plants, another Russian general of the Rosguard, S. Burakov, ordered his subordinates to illegally deport to Russia 169 service members of the National Guard of Ukraine who were defending the state institution.

He also ordered the looting of property and special equipment from a state-owned enterprise and its removal to Russia.

So far, all three perpetrators have been reported in absentia on suspicion under Part 1 of Art. 438 (violation of the laws and customs of war) of the Criminal Code of Ukraine.

Measures are being taken to bring the occupiers to justice for crimes against our state.

SBU officers carried out detections of the occupiers’ command staff under the procedural guidance of the Specialized Environmental Prosecutor’s Office of the Prosecutor General’s Office.

Translate »